order coupons and print out directly!
order eventtickets and print out directly!

History of the Hotel

The Bayerische Hof near the St. Mangbrücke bridge is one of Kempten’s long-established businesses whose history can be traced as far back as 1472.

As early as 1472 there is evidence that an inn existed on the outskirts of the town. In 1742 this restaurant was then re-named the “Zum Weißen Rössle” (White Horse) after the horse market which was once held at the Illerbrücke.

Not until 1807 did the hotel come to be known by its new name “Zum Bayerischen Hof”. At the beginning of the 20th century the famous Kempten architect Andor Akos turned what was then a plain, architecturally undistinguished inn into the attractive building we see today. A particularly charming feature are the relief paintings by the Bozen artist Rudolf Stolz which adorn the front facade and which depict playing-card characters dancing.

The property has belonged to the Nägele family for over 100 years and the current owners Cornel and Andrea Nägele, who have run the hotel since 1990, represent the 4th generation of that family. The hotel has undergone extensive renovation and over the years has been expanded and modified, including the addition of a sunny breakfast conservatory and a small but attractive sauna and fitness suite, decorated  in Mediterranean style. Extending the entire upper floor has allowed the addition of attractive maisonette rooms (complete with spacious bathrooms), one suite and two junior suites with views of the nearby Chapuis Park and the river Iller.

“Just like coming home”

...is how our many regular guests, who include both business travellers and holidaymakers, describe the hotel.  A major contributing factor is, of course, our wonderful team of friendly and attentive staff. The comfortable rooms in our hotel come in a variety of sizes and shapes.

In 2005 the family decided to take over the lease on the restaurant, convert it and take over the running of it themselves. Restoration work on the ground floor of the building revealed wooden ceilings dating from around 1860 – these were lovingly restored and integrated into the Rossmarktstube und the Allgäuer Stüble dining-rooms.

“We wanted to go back to our roots and so we completely refurbished the restaurant dining-rooms in traditional Allgäu style”.

To recreate the look we wanted, we used original old wood for the chairs, benches and tables as well as to clad the walls and floors. Authentic Allgäu antiques added the finishing touch. An attractive addition to the hotel is the new garden restaurant in the nearby Chapuis Park. With its mighty beech trees and a fountain, this delightful green space, which is listed for preservation, is a charming place to sit and while away the time. Renovation work also included the addition of our Allgäuer Stüble, Rossmarktstube and Patrizierstube dining-rooms, a glazed wine-cellar, a children’s play area and our vaulted cellar. The entire kitchen area was also refurbished and fitted with the latest hi-tech appliances. Our kitchen’s motto is: “Everything from good home-cooked food to sophisticated cuisine – but never pretentious”. Our chef uses only the best and freshest local Allgäu ingredients. So whether it is a tasty traditional one-course meal you are looking for, or something a little more sophisticated with several courses, our kitchen will do you proud.

A3 Rauten  Auszeichnung für ausgezeichnete Bayerische Küche vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Ernährung
Booking